1. Accueil
  2. Actualités
  3. Agenda
  4. Artistes
  5. Satirino records
  6. Contact
  7. English
  1. Accueil
  2. Actualités
  3. Agenda
  4. Artistes
  5. Satirino records
  6. Contact
  7. English

Artistes · Orchestres · Camerata Ireland

Camerata Ireland Logo  est fondé en 1999 par Barry Douglas qui depuis ses fracassants débuts sur la scène internationale en 1986, lorsqu’il remporte la Médaille d'Or du concours Tchaïkovsky à Moscou, figure parmi les plus importants pianistes au monde.

Les concerts inauguraux de Camerata Ireland ont lieu au Stormont Parliament Buildings de Belfast et dans les State Apartments de Dublin, réunissant les meilleurs musiciens du Nord et du Sud de l’Irlande, issus des rangs des plus importants orchestres britanniques et européens, et d’exceptionnels jeunes talents qui, selon Barry Douglas, célèbrent « la richesse du talent musical irlandais ».

La renommée internationale de Barry Douglas a largement contribué à faire connaître Camerata Ireland. Ensemble ils ont déjà effectué trois importantes tournées aux Etats-Unis et se sont également produits en Amérique du Sud, en Italie, en Allemagne, en Pologne, en Chine et en France.

En juin 2010, Camerata Ireland et Barry Douglas donnent leur quatrième concert faisant partie d'un cycle de concertos pour piano de Mozart au Théâtre des Champs Élysées à Paris. Leur tournée annuelle internationale les conduit également au Cadogan Hall à Londres, au National Concert Hall à Dublin, à l’Auditorium National de Madrid et au Concertgebouw d'Amsterdam.

Le Festival qu’organise Camerata Ireland et Barry Douglas au Château de Clandeboye près de Belfast au mois d’août chaque année, est l’évènement musical estival majeur de l’Irlande du Nord. Des masterclasses et ateliers pour jeunes musiciens sont au centre de ce festival, animés par Barry Douglas et d'autres artistes mondialement connus. Clandeboye est suivi en septembre par son festival jumeau The Castletown Concerts à Celbridge, Co Kildare près de Dublin où une collaboration avec les étudiants de l'Université de Maynooth vient également d'être inaugurée - former et faire connaître de jeunes talents un des objectifs premiers de Camerata Ireland.

Barry Douglas et Camerata Ireland a enregistré l’intégrale des concertos pour piano de Beethoven pour le label Satirino Records.

Camerata Ireland est l’un des deux seuls organismes à bénéficier du haut patronage de sa Majesté la Reine Elizabeth II et de Mary McAleese, Présidente de la République d’Irlande. L'Orchestre est soutenu par RANDOX laboratories, leur sponsor principal, ainsi que par Culture Ireland, l'Arts Council of Northern Ireland, l'Arts Council of the Republic of Ireland et Tourism Ireland.

Ci Banner1

Randox Logo 2010 Ci(Dual) Logo Colour Final

Arts Council Logo North  Arts Council Roi Logo

"…le deuxième concerto de piano de Prokofiev fût un éblouissement à l’état pur. Le jeu frénétique mais néanmoins solide de Barry Douglas donnait presque le vertige."
www.musicweb-international.com John-Pierre Joyce (BBC Symphony Orchestra, avril 2009)

Barry Douglas

Barry Douglas Clandeboye Aug101 672x372

Barry Douglas poursuit une grande carrière internationale depuis qu’il a remporté en 1986 la Médaille d’Or du concours Tchaïkovski à Moscou. Il continue à célébrer la richesse musicale irlandaise avec des concerts dans le monde entier comme directeur artistique de Camerata Ireland et du Clandeboye Festival ainsi que comme soliste.

Barry a récemment lancé un projet monumental d'enregistrement avec Chandos Records. Il enregistre l'intégrale des oeuvres pour piano seul de Brahms et Schubert dans les cinq ans à venir. Avec une grande expérience musicale et 35 ans de carrière, Barry sent que le temps est venu pour lui d'entreprendre ce projet colossal. Le premier volume des oeuvres de Brahms est sorti en Mars 2012. Chaque disque est salué par de nombreuses critiques élogieuses, qui en louent le programme, digne d'un récital unique, offrant une expérience variée et engageante. Les prochains projets comprennent les deux concertos pour piano de Brahms que Barry dirigera du piano et qu’il enregistrera avec le BBC Symphony Orchestra.

Camerata Ireland a été fondé par Barry en 1999 pour célébrer et soutenir les jeunes talents irlandais. L'ensemble, composé de musiciens du Nord et de la République d'Irlande, a acquis une réputation d'excellence. Camerata Ireland se produit régulièrement dans toute l'Europe, en Amérique du Nord et du Sud et en Chine. L'orchestre se interprètera une nouvelle cantate commandée par « The Honourable The Irish Society », « At Sixes and Sevens », aux côtés du London Symphony Orchestra pour célébrer Derry-Londonderry comme ville de la culture 2013.

Les moments phares de la saison incluent des engagements avec London Symphony Orchestra, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, St Petersburg Philharmonic, Orquesta del SODRE Montevideo, Orquesta Filarmonica de Buenos Aires et une tournée aux Etats-Unis avec l’Orchestra National de Russie. Barry se produit régulièrement avec, entre autres, London Symphony Orchestra, City of Birmingham Symphony, Cincinnati Symphony, Singapore Symphony, Duisburg Philharmonic, Seattle Symphony, RSO Berlin, Melbourne Symphony, Czech National Symphony, Atlanta Symphony, Brussels Philharmonic, Shanghai Symphony, Baltimore Symphony, Hong Kong Philharmonic, Houston Symphony, et Helsinki Philharmonic. En récital, Barry se produit dans le monde entier. Ses prochains concerts auront lieu en France, Russie, Royaume-Uni, Italie, Etats-Unis.

Depuis la création de Camerata Ireland, la réputation de Barry est également développée en tant que pianiste/chef d’orchestre. Durant cette saison, Il revient en tant que tel au Vancouver Symphony Orchestra. Récemment, il a fait des débuts triomphaux avec RTE National Symphony Orchestra, St Petersburg Symhpony Orchestra, Academy of St Martin in the Fields, Indianapolis Symphony, Vancouver Symphony, Chamber Orchestra of Romanian National Radio Orchestra, Bangkok Symphony, I Pomerigi di Milano et Moscow Philharmonic.

Barry Douglas reçoit le « Order of the British Empire » (OBE) en 2002 pour son engagement au service de la musique.

Barry Douglas se produit en accord avec IMG Artists et est représenté en France par Véronique Jourdain Artists Management

Revues de presse

"Barry Douglas dirige avec une bonne humeur contagieuse, capable de tirer le public le plus blasé de sa léthargie."
Joe Banno, Washington Post

"Avec le Concerto pour piano en mi majeur KV 414, Douglas a fait la preuve qu'il était un brillant mozartien. Il était accompagné par Camerata Ireland dont le style remarquable est fidèle à l'esprit de l'idole de Salzbourg."
Ulrich Moller-Amsberg, Suddeutsche Zeitung

"La Sérénade de Tchaïkovski est censée plonger le public dans un univers musical aux sonorités envoûtantes. C'est précisément ce qui est arrivé lors de cette somptueuse performance pour laquelle l'orchestre a fait chanter les cordes en déployant tout son art."
Kyle MacMillan, Denver Post

"Douglas est le plus rêveur.... sa version sonne comme s’il avait dormi avec la partition et s’était réveillé amoureux d’elle. On observe une logique expressive d’un grand naturel dans son jeu ainsi que dans l’occasionnelle désynchronisation des mains".
Rob Cowan, Gramophone

"Si vous êtes sur le point de renouveler votre collection de concertos de Beethoven ou encore juste de la commencer, ce nouvel enregistrement est un must."
Laurence Vittes, Audiophile

Programmes

Barry Douglas entame une intégrale des derniers concertos pour piano de Mozart avec son orchestre Camerata Ireland. Il s’agit des concertos ont été créés à partir de 1784, dans une série de programmes qui seront inaugurés le 16 & 17 mars 2018 au Théâtre Le Cratère à Alès et à l'Opéra Royal du Château de Versailles :

Mozart

Concerto No 23 en La majeur, K. 488
Concerto No. 20 en Ré mineur, K. 466
--
Conceto No. 25 en Ut majeur, K. 503

Orchestre 75332 1222 2200 timbales

Barry Douglas et Camerata Ireland proposent ensuite quatre programmes au rythme d’un programme par saison :

​Concerto No. 14 en Mi bémol majeur, K.449 (9 février 1784)
​Concerto No. 24 en Ut mineur, K.491 (24 mars 1786)
--​
​Concerto No. 22 en Mi bémol majeur, K.482 (16 décembre 1785)

​Concerto No. 15 en Si bémol majeur, K.450 (15 mars 1784)
​Concerto No. 19 en Fa majeur, K.459 (11 décembre 1784)
--​
​Concerto No. 27 en Si bémol majeur, K.595 (5 janvier 1791)

​Concerto No. 16 en Ré majeur, K.451 (22 mars 1784)
​Concerto No. 21 en Ut majeur, K.467 (9 mars 1785)
--​
​Concerto No. 26 en Ré majeur, K.537 (24 février 1788)

Camerata Ireland Clandeboye House

1. Home
  2. News
  3. Events
  4. Artists
  5. Satirino records
  6. Contact
  7. Français
  1. Home
  2. News
  3. Events
  4. Artists
  5. Satirino records
  6. Contact
  7. Français

Artists · Orchestras · Camerata Ireland

Camerata Ireland Logo  is a chamber orchestra formed in 1999 by Barry Douglas, one of the world’s foremost pianists since winning the Gold Medal at the 1986 Tchaikovsky International Piano competition in Moscow.

The orchestra’s inaugural concerts were given at the Stormont Parliament Buildings in Belfast and the State Apartments in Dublin, bringing together fine Irish musicians from both the North and the South, players holding top positions in some of the major British and European orchestras with exceptional young Irish musicians, to celebrate, in Barry Douglas’s own words, 'the wealth of Irish musical talent'.

The world-wide reputation of Barry Douglas has been an immense stimulus for interest in Camerata Ireland which has made three extensive tours of the USA and has also performed in South America, Italy, Germany, Poland, China and in France.

The orchestra and Barry Douglas will be giving the fourth concert in their Mozart Piano Concerto cycle at the Théâtre des Champs Elysées in Paris in June 2010. Their yearly international series also takes them to the Cadogan Hall in London, the National Concert Hall, Dublin, the Amsterdam Concertgebouw and the National Auditorium in Madrid.

Barry Douglas and Camerata Ireland organise the Clandeboye Festival outside Belfast every August. Clandeboye has become the major summer musical event in Northern Ireland. The festival is centred around workshops and masterclasses for young musicians, many of whom go on to perform with Camerata Ireland, and are led by Barry Douglas and other international artists.  It is followed in September by its sister festival The Castletown Concerts in Celbridge, Co Kildare, which has begun a colloboration with music students from nearby Maynooth University as part of its ethos of supporting young musicians.

Barry Douglas and Camerata Ireland have recorded a Beethoven Piano Concerto cycle for Satirino Records. The complete box set was released in early 2008.

Camerata Ireland is one of only two organisations to have been honoured with the joint Patronage of Mary McAleese, President of Ireland and Her Majesty The Queen. Camerata Ireland is deeply grateful for the support of its Global Sponsor Randox laboratories, and is also supported by Culture Ireland, the Northern Ireland Arts Council and the Arts Council of Ireland.
 

Ci Banner1

Randox Logo 2010 Ci(Dual) Logo Colour Final 

Arts Council Logo North  Arts Council Roi Logo

For further, detailed information about Camerata Ireland and its work, please visit their website, www.camerata-ireland.com

"..the Prokofiev’s second piano concerto was sheer dazzle. Barry Douglas’s frenetic but assured performance was almost dizzying to watch."
www.musicweb-international.com by John-Pierre Joyce (BBC Symphony Orchestra, April 2009)

Barry Douglas

Barry Douglas Clandeboye Aug101 672x372

Barry Douglas has established a major international career since winning the Gold Medal at the 1986 Tchaikovsky International Piano Competition, Moscow. As Artistic Director of Camerata Ireland and the Clandeboye Festival, he continues to celebrate his Irish heritage whilst also maintaining a busy international touring schedule.

Barry has recently embarked on a monumental recording project with Chandos Records – to record the complete works for solo piano of Brahms and Schubert within five years. Having developed a wealth of musical experience in his 35 year career, Barry now feels the time is right to undertake this colossal project. The first disc of works by Brahms was released to critical acclaim in March 2012. The interesting programming of each disc, which has already garnered much critical praise, presents each album as a stand-alone recital, providing a varied and engaging listening experience. Future plans include a play/direct project in which Barry will record both Brahms Piano Concerti with the BBC Symphony Orchestra.

Camerata Ireland was founded by Barry in 1999 to celebrate and nurture the cream of young Irish talent. The ensemble is made up of musicians from both Northern and the Republic of Ireland and has acquired a reputation for excellence. Camerata Ireland tours regularly throughout Europe, North and South America, and China. In addition to its busy schedule of concerts, the orchestra will perform a new cantata commissioned by The Honourable The Irish Society, “At Sixes and Sevens”, alongside the London Symphony Orchestra to celebrate Derry-Londonderry becoming City of Culture 2013.

Highlights of the coming seasons include returns to the London Symphony Orchestra, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, St Petersburg Philharmonic, Orquestra del SODRE Montevideo, and Buenos Aires Philharmonic Orchestra, and a US tour with the Russian National Orchestra. He has previously given concerts with the London Symphony, City of Birmingham Symphony, Cincinnati Symphony, Singapore Symphony, Duisburg Philharmonic, Seattle Symphony, Hallé, Berlin Radio Symphony, Melbourne Symphony, Czech National Symphony, Atlanta Symphony, Brussels Philharmonic, Shanghai Symphony, Baltimore Symphony, Hong Kong Philharmonic, Houston Symphony, and Helsinki Philharmonic orchestras, among others. Barry regularly plays in recital throughout the world, with upcoming performances in France, including Lyon, Russia, including St Petersburg, the UK, including the BBC Wigmore Series and the City of London Festival, Italy, and the US.

Barry’s reputation as a play/conductor has grown since forming Camerata Ireland, this season seeing him return to direct the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra. In recent seasons, he has made successful debuts with the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra, St Petersburg Symphony Orchestra, Academy of St Martin-in-the-Fields, Indianapolis Symphony, Vancouver Symphony, Chamber Orchestra of the Romanian National Radio Orchestra at the Enescu Festival, Bangkok Symphony, I Pommerigi di Milano and Moscow Philharmonic orchestras.

Barry Douglas received the Order of the British Empire (OBE) in the 2002 New Year’s Honours List for services to music.

Barry Douglas appears by arrangement with IMG Artists and is represented in France by Véronique Jourdain Artists Management

Press reviews

"Barry Douglas conducts with a communicative urgency that jolts the most concert-weary warhorses back to life" Joe Banno, Washington Post

"With the A Major Piano Concerto KV 414, Douglas shows himself as a brilliant Mozart interpreter. He was accompanied by Camerata Ireland with a dazzling style which easily invoked the spirit of the Salzburg idol" Ulrich Moller-Amsberg, Suddeutsche Zeitung

"Tchaikovsky's Serenade is meant to plunge listeners into a rich, encompassing aural world. That is precisely what happened in this sumptuous performance, showing off the orchestra's appealing, full-bodied string sound." Kyle MacMillan, Denver Post

"Douglas is the dreamer.... [he] sounds if he‘s slept with the score and woken up loving it. There’s a simple, expressive logic about his playing (as well as the occasional expressive desynchronisation of the hands)."
Rob Cowan, Gramophone

"Whether your are ready to update your Beethoven piano concertos or just starting out, this new recording is a must."
Laurence Vittes, Audiophile

Programmes 2017 - 2018

Available in France from Tuesday 20 to Saturday 24 March 2018

Mozart - Concertos for piano and orchestra

Concerto No 23 in A major, K. 488
Concerto No. 20 in D minor, K. 466
--
Conceto No. 25 in C major, K. 503

Orchestra 75332 1222 2200 timps

Camerata Ireland Clandeboye House