1. Accueil
  2. Actualités
  3. Agenda
  4. Artistes
  5. Satirino records
  6. Contact
  7. English
  1. Accueil
  2. Actualités
  3. Agenda
  4. Artistes
  5. Satirino records
  6. Contact
  7. English

Artistes · Ensembles · Doric String Quartet

Alex Redington, violon
Jonathan Stone, violon
Hélène Clément, alto
John Myerscough, violoncelle 

"Cette lecture délicate, sensible de Haydn, Bartók et Schubert explique la pérennité de cet ensemble ... ce concert résume parfaitement le style du Doric String Quartet, son lyrisme subtil, ses couleurs parfaitement assorties et son phrasé... un jeu de quatuor au plus haut niveau."
Financial Times, Wigmore Hall, 1er Janvier 2013

Décrit par Gramophone comme “l'un des meilleurs jeunes quatuors à cordes”, le Doric String Quartet se distingue parmi la nouvelle génération des jeunes quatuors à cordes britanniques et reçoit un vibrant accueil autant du public que de la part de la critique et ceci à travers le monde. Sélectionné en 2006 pour être représenté par le Young Concert Artists Trust (YCAT), le Doric String Quartet remporte de nombreux prix comme en 2008 le 1er Prix du Osaka International Chamber Music Competition au Japon, le 2ème Prix du Premio Paolo Borciani International String Quartet Competition en Italie et le Prix d’Ensemble au Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern en Allemagne.

Depuis sa création en 1998, le Doric String Quartet se produit dans toute l’Europe comme au Concertgebouw d’Amsterdam, au Berlin Konzerthaus, au Frankfurt Alte Oper, au Hamburg Laeiszhalle et De Singel et est régulièrement invité au Wigmore Hall. En 2010, il fait des débuts très remarqués aux États-Unis avec des concerts au Frick Museum à New York et à la Library of Congress à Washington et depuis est invité tous les ans en tournée en Amérique du Nord. Le Quatuor se produit également dans de nombreux festivals comme le Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommmen, West Cork, Cheltenham, Delft, Grafenegg, Carinthischer Sommer, Incontini in Terra di Sierra, Risor et Schweitzinger Festivals et collabore avec des artistes comme Ian Bostridge, Philip Langridge, Mark Padmore, Alexander Melnikov, Daniel Müller-Schott, Chen Halevi, Elizabeth Leonskaja, Alina Ibragimova et Cédric Tiberghien. Récemment, le Doric String Quartet s’est emparé de l’oeuvre pour quatuor et orchestre de John Adams "Absolute Jest" qu’il interprète avec le Vienna Symphony au Vienna Konzerthaus sous la direction de John Adams lui-même et avec le Netherlands Radio Philharmonic au Concertgebouw d’Amsterdam ainsi qu’avec le BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra dirigé par Markus Stenz

Parmi les moments forts de la saison 2016-17 figurent les débuts du Doric String Quartet au Carnegie Hall où il donne la première américaine de la pièce de Donnacha Dennehey "The Weather of it", objet d’une commande commune de Carnegie Hall et du Wigmore Hall. En Allemagne, il joue au Heidelberg String Quartet Festival, Mecklenburg-Vorpommen Festival et au Berlin Konzerthaus ainsi qu’a Polling, Ravensburg et Otterndorf. Parmi ses autres engagements européens l’on peut noter des concerts à Reeuwijk, Dordrecht, Arnhem et au Théâtre de Sens. Le Doric String Quartet retourne en Israël pour des concerts à Jerusalem, Haifa et Tel Aviv tandis qu’au Royaume-Uni l’on peut noter quatre apparitions au Wigmore Hall, un week-end de concerts au Perth Concert Hall et des concerts à Édimbourg, Oxford et Brighton. Le Doric String Quartet poursuit également sa relation au long cours avec le Wiltshire Music Centre ainsi qu’avec Jersey Arts Centre et le West Cork Chamber Music Festival.

En France, le Doric String Quartet se produit pendant la saison 2017-18 dans la "Nuit du Quatuor" à Paris organisée par ProQuartet et la Philharmonie de Paris, au Théâtre Le Cratère à Alès, à La Courroie, au Musée d’Orsay et retourne au Festival International du Quatuor à Cordes du Luberon en août 2018.

En 2009, le premier enregistrement du Doric String Quartet sur le label Wigmore Live est chaleureusement reçu par la critique et distingué par un "Editor’s Choice" dans Gramophone. Depuis 2010 le quatuor enregistre en exclusivité pour le label Chandos. Son premier CD, l’intégrale de Quatuors de Korngold, sortie en septembre 2010, est récompensé par un "Critic Choice" de l’année 2010 dans Gramophone et est suivi par la sortie de leur enregistrement des quatuors de Walton en 2011 qui est nommé pour le Gramophone Award 2011. Son enregistrement des Quatuors à cordes de Schumann sorti en octobre 2011 se voit récompensé par un "CD of the Month" dans Gramophone et BBC Music Magazine et se retrouve également sur la liste des Gramophone Award 2012. Leurs enregistrements de l’Opus 20 de Haydn également distingués par un "Editor’s Choice" et sélectionnés pour un Gramophone Award 2015 tandis que leur Opus 76 est salué "pour son sens de la clarté et pour sa précision" par le Sunday Times.

Formé en 1998 au sein de Pro Corda à la National School for Young Chamber Music Players, le Doric String Quartet étudie à partir de 2002 à Paris dans le cadre de ProQuartet, où il travaille avec des membres des Quatuors Alban Berg, Artemis, Hagen et LaSalle ainsi qu’avec György Kurtag. Le Doric String Quartet continue de travailler auprès de Rainer Schmidt (Hagen Quartet).

Le Doric String Quartet se produit en accord avec Sulivan Sweetland Artist Management et est représenté en France par Satirino.

Pour plus d'information visiter www.doricstringquartet.com

Novembre 2017

Doric 4876 Mem
Photo George Garnier

Revues de presse

'… un engagement flamboyant et une interprétation d’une assurance triomphale par le Doric Quartet… Sa prestation du très accompli Quatuor en la mineur (1944-47) est encore plus impressionnante, faisant preuve d’un fondu exquis, d’une acuité rythmique et d’une précision au rasoir.'
Walton String Quartets (Chandos) CHAN10661, Gramophone, Mai 2011

'Le Doric donne une remarquable et virtuose interprétation des deux Quatuors à cordes de William Walton.'
Walton String Quartets (Chandos) CHAN10661, The Telegraph (5stars) 25 February 2011

'L'ensemble fait jaillir un doux ton finement fondu, irréprochablement déployé dans le mouvement lent du Haydn, là où le premier violon Alex Redington trouve de subtiles couleurs pour embellir la mélancolique petite mélodie différemment à chaque fois qu’elle revient.'
Washington, Library of Congress: String Quartets by HAYDN, KORNGOLD, WEBERN, SCHUMANN, Washington Post, 22 novembre 2010

'Ce disque est inspirant en tous points ; la musique, ce superbe et jeune quatuor et la haute qualité de l’enregistrement.'
KORNGOLD Complete String Quartets (Chandos) CHAN10611, Ensemble Magazine, février 2011

'Le Doric String Quartet semble posséder une approche hautement précise qui s’applique également aux mouvements rapides : la valse du second quatuor se balance sur un rythme élégant, tandis que le Finale du dernier quatuor est encore plus virtuose…. C’est vraiment merveilleux d’avoir enfin un enregistrement de référence qui rend justice à l’œuvre injustement négligée de Korngold.'
KORNGOLD Complete String Quartets (Chandos) CHAN10611, Fonoforum magazine, février 2011

'Le Doric Quartet arrive à combiner la ligne principale et la précision rythmique nécessaires pour rendre entièrement justice aux partitions sophistiquées de Korngold avec une tonalité chaleureuse et une expression intense que font de ces interprètes des avocats hautement persuasifs. Un ajout de grande valeur à la discographie de Korngold.'
KORNGOLD Complete String Quartets (Chandos) CHAN10611, Classic FM Magazine (5 Stars) December 2010

'Dès le début, les Doric imposent, avec une incisive hardiesse, leur écrasante appropriation des courants sous-jacents tourbillonnants et émouvants ainsi que des rythmes alertes caractéristiques de la musique somptueusement lyrique et exquisément travaillée de Korngold. Une interprétation de référence par le Doric Sting Quartet au sommet de bien de grandes choses.'
KORNGOLD Complete String Quartets (Chandos) CHAN10611, BBC Review, 30 novembre 2010

'C’est la première sortie pour Chandos du Doric String Quartet et elle ne pouvait être plus prometteuse. Son jeu est sensible à chaque nuance et phrasé de ces quatuors, touchantes lettres d’amour dédiées à la ville natale du compositeur. Il s’agit là d’une musique irrésistible dans laquelle les Doric évoluent parfaitement à leur aise.'
KORNGOLD Complete String Quartets (Chandos) CHAN10611, Gramophone novembre 2010, Editor’s Choice

'Quatre garçons en costume; ce pourrait être des banquiers. Mais des banquiers n’interprèteraient pas la musique avec la passion et la finesse de ce jeune ensemble britannique. Ils ont joué les trois quatuors à cordes de Erich Wolfgang Korngold, l’enfant prodige autrichien, toujours merveilleux même lorsqu’il écrivait la musique des films de Errol Flynn. Chaque quatuor, composé à différentes époques, tord le kaléidoscope de différentes façons. Le N° 1 est d’un chromatisme compliqué, le second salue la vénérable Vienne ; tandis que le troisième, le meilleur, jette un regard sur le passé avec mélancolie, empreint de regret et de rire.'
KORNGOLD Complete String Quartets (Chandos) CHAN10611, The Times (4 Stars) 4 September 2010

'Avec leur proverbial sens du tempo, arrive à point un disque des Doric pour nous rappeler pourquoi nous les avons déjà mentionnés dans notre magazine comme l’un des meilleurs jeunes quatuors à cordes. Il y a, à proprement parlé, un sérieux et un éclat dans leur Haydn qui les désignent comme des musiciens qui ont des choses fascinantes à dire…. Le Haydn des Doric pétille d’intelligence dans son impressionnant et très prometteur premier enregistrement.'
Haydn Op 9/4, Op 50/2, Op 76/1 (Wigmore Live) WHLive0032, Gramophone Magazine, février 2010
[EDITOR’S CHOICE dans une sélection d'interprétations de 5 parmi les meilleurs jeunes quatuors à cordes]

'Haydn et les Doric forment un couple parfait. Il s’agit d’un ensemble jeune mais solidement perspicace qui interprète Haydn avec intelligence, illuminant son mélange d’esprit et de sophistication, de grâce et de vivacité, de ruse et de spontanéité apparemment facile….l’interprétation des Doric, sans exagération mais avec un juste degré de clarification, révèle l’extraordinaire originalité de cette musique et les chemins potentiels des thématiques explorés par Haydn avec tant de profondeur et sans artifice. … Sans aucun doute, il s’agit d’une interprétation tout en panache, qui semble se glisser dans la peau du génie créatif de Haydn.'
Wigmore Hall HAYDN Op 9/4, Op 50, Op 76/1, Op 50/1, The Sunday Telegraph (5 Stars) 18 janvier 2009

'Puissant, passionné et précis …. le Doric String Quartet triomphe pour ses débuts en Allemagne.'
Festspiele Mecklenburgh-Vorpommern, Nordkurier, juillet 2008

'Rarement l’Opus 18 de Beethoven a été interprété avec une telle intensité et de clarté sans compromis. C’était un Beethoven ouvrant de nouveaux horizons.'
Ostsee Zeitung, juillet 2008

Programmes

Programmes automne / hiver 2019

MENDELSSOHN - Quatuor à cordes en La mineur, Op. 13
HAYDN - Quatuor à cordes Op 33 No 3 OU No 6
--
BRITTEN - Quatuor à cordes No 3
HAYDN - Quatuor à cordes Op 33 No 3 OU No 6

HAYDN - Quatuor à cordes Op 33 No 3 OU No 6
BRITTEN - Quatuor à cordes No 1 OU 2 OU 3
--
SCHUBERT - Quatuor à cordes en Sol majeur

MENDELSSOHN - Quatuor à cordes en La mineur, Op. 13
BRITTEN - Quatuor à cordes No 1 OU 2 OU 3
--
BEETHOVEN - Quatuor à cordes Op 18 No 1

Programmes hiver / printemps 2020

HAYDN - Quatuor à cordes Op 33 No 3 OU No 6
BRITTEN - Quatuor à cordes No 3
--
BEETHOVEN - Quatuor à cordes Op 132

HAYDN - Quatuor à cordes Op 33 No 3 OU No 6
SIBELIUS - Voces Intimae
--
BEETHOVEN - Quatuor à cordes Op 130

Programmes Beethoven :

BEETHOVEN - Quatuor à cordes en Si bémol, Op 18 No 1
BEETHOVEN - Quatuor à cordes Op 135
--
BEETHOVEN - Quatuor à cordes Op 130

Intégrale des derniers quatuors de Beethoven en 2 programmes:

BEETHOVEN - Quatuor à cordes Op 127
BEETHOVEN - Quatuor à cordes Op 135
BEETHOVEN - Quatuor à cordes Op 131

BEETHOVEN - Quatuor à cordes Op 132
BEETHOVEN - Quatuor à cordes Op 130

Le Doric String Quartet est toujours heureux de reprendre leur répertoire avec la harpiste Agnès Clément :

André Caplet - “Conte Fantastique - Le masque de la mort rouge”, d'après Poe pour harpe à pédales et quatuor à cordes, (édité 1924)
Florent Schmitt - Andante et scherzo pour harpe et quatuor à cordes, op 35 (1906)
Claude Debussy - Danse sacrée et Danse profane (1904)

1. Home
  2. News
  3. Events
  4. Artists
  5. Satirino records
  6. Contact
  7. Français
  1. Home
  2. News
  3. Events
  4. Artists
  5. Satirino records
  6. Contact
  7. Français

Artists · Ensembles · Doric String Quartet

Alex Redington, violin
Jonathan Stone, violin
Hélène Clément, viola
John Myerscough, 'cello

"Subtle yet responsive readings of Haydn, Bartók and Schubert show why this ensemble has been so durable…this performance summed up the Doric String Quartet’s style of subtle lyricism and perfectly matching colour and phrasing…high-quality quartet playing."
Financial Times - Wigmore Hall, 1st January 2013

The Doric String Quartet has firmly established itself as the leading British string quartet of its generation, receiving enthusiastic responses from audiences and critics across the globe. Selected for representation by YCAT in 2006, the Quartet went on to win several prizes including 1st prize at the 2008 Osaka International Chamber Music Competition in Japan, 2nd prize at the Premio Paolo Borciani International String Quartet Competition in Italy and the Ensemble Prize at the Festspiele Mecklenburg- Vorpommern in Germany.

The Quartet performs in leading concert halls throughout Europe including Amsterdam Concertgebouw, Vienna Konzerthaus, Berlin Konzerthaus, Frankfurt Alte Oper, Hamburg Laeiszhalle and De Singel, and is a regular visitor to the Wigmore Hall. In 2010 the Quartet made its highly acclaimed American debut with recitals at the Frick Museum in New York and Library of Congress in Washington, and now returns for annual tours to North America. Alongside main season concerts the Quartet has a busy festival schedule and has performed at the Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, West Cork, Cheltenham, Delft, Grafenegg, Carinthischer Sommer, Incontri inTerra di Siena, Risor and Schwetzinger Festivals, collaborating with artists including Ian Bostridge, Philip Langridge, Mark Padmore, Alexander Melnikov, Daniel Müller-Schott, Andreas Haefliger, Chen Halevi, Elizabeth Leonskaja, Alina Ibragimova and Cédric Tiberghien. Another recent highlight has seen the Quartet take on John Adams’ Absolute Jest for String Quartet and Orchestra. The Doric have now performed the piece with the Vienna Symphony at the Vienna Konzerthaus with John Adams conducting, with the Netherlands Radio Philharmonic at the Concertgebouw and with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra conducted by Markus Stenz.

Highlights of the 2016-17 season include the Quartet’s debut appearance at Carnegie Hall, where they will give the US premiere of Donnacha Dennehey’s piece The Weather of it, which was co-commissioned for the Doric by Carnegie Hall and Wigmore Hall. In Europe, the Quartet continues to raise its profile in Germany with performances at the Heidelberg String Quartet Festival, Mecklenburg Vorpommen Festival and the Berlin Konzerthaus as well as recitals in Polling, Ravensburg and Otterndorf. Other European engagements include appearances in Reeuwijk, Dordrect, Arnhem and at the Théâtre de Sens, whilst elsewhere they also return to Israel for concerts in Jerusalem, Haifa and Tel Aviv. UK highlights include four appearances at the Wigmore Hall, as well as a weekend of concerts at the Perth Concert Hall and recitals in Edinburgh, Oxford and Brighton. They also continue their long-standing relationship with the Wiltshire Music Centre, as well as returning to the Jersey Arts Centre and the West Cork Chamber Music Festival.

In 2009 the Doric String Quartet’s first CD was released to critical acclaim on the Wigmore Live label and was chosen as Editor’s Choice in Gramophone. Since 2010 the Quartet has recorded exclusively for Chandos Records. The first CD, the complete Korngold String Quartets, was featured as one of the 2010 Critic’s Choice discs in Gramophone and was followed by a CD of the Walton String Quartets which was nominated for a 2011 Gramophone Award. The Quartet’s release of the Schumann String Quartets was named CD of the Month in both Gramophone and BBC Music Magazine and was shortlisted for a 2012 Gramophone Award. Their recording of Haydn’s Op 20 was named Editor’s Choice by Gramophone and shortlisted for a 2015 Gramophone Award and their most recent release of Haydn Op 76 Quartets was praised for its “sense of clarity and precision” by The Sunday Times.

Formed in 1998 at Pro Corda, The National School for Young Chamber Music Players, the Doric String Quartet studied on the Paris-based ProQuartet Professional Training Program and later at the Music Academy in Basel. In 2015 the Quartet was appointed as Teaching Quartet in Association at the Royal Academy of Music in London.

July 2017

The Doric String Quartet appears by arrangement with Sulivan Sweetland Artist Management and is represented in France by Satirino.

For more information please visit www.doricstringquartet.com

Doric 4876 Mem
Photo George Garnier

Press reviews

WALTON String Quartets (Chandos) CHAN10661
'…blazingly committed and triumphantly assured rendering by the Doric Quartet…Their account of the mature A minor Quartet (1944‑47) is more impressive still, displaying an exquisite blend, rhythmic acuity and razor-sharp precision'.
Gramophone May 2011

'The Doric gives outstanding, virtuoso performances of William Walton’s two string quartets'.
The Telegraph (5stars) 25 February 2011

Washington, Library of Congress: String Quartets by HAYDN, KORNGOLD, WEBERN, SCHUMANN
'The group projects a sweet, finely blended tone, faultlessly deployed in Haydn's slow movement, where first violinist Alex Redington found subtle colors to embellish a wistful little melody differently each time it returned.'
Washington Post 22 November 2010

KORNGOLD Complete String Quartets (Chandos) CHAN10611
'This is a disc that is inspirational in every way; the music, the superb young quartet and the high quality of the recording.'
Ensemble Magazine February 2011

'The Doric String Quartet seem to have a highly detailed approach, which is also applied in the fast movements: the waltz in the second quartet has an elegant swing, whilst the virtuosic finale of the last quartet has even more lively spirit…It is wonderful to have such a bench mark recording, which puts Korngold’s much neglected work into a new and deserving light.'
Fonoforum magazine February 2011

'The Doric Quartet manages to combine the necessary linear and rhythmic precision needed to do full justice to Korngold's sophisticated scoring with a warmth of tone and intensity of expression that makes the players highly persuasive advocates… A valuable addition to the Korngold discography.'
Classic FM Magazine (5 Stars) December 2010

'From the off, the Dorics stamp their own emphatic claim to ownership with a bold incisive feel for the swirling stylistic and emotional undercurrents in Korngold’s characteristically rhythmically alert, sumptuously lyrical and exquisitely crafted music.. These are benchmark performances by a Doric String Quartet clearly on the cusp of great things.'
BBC Review 30 November 2010

'This the quartet's first release for Chandos and it couldn't be more auspicious. Their playing is alive to every nuance and turn of phrase in these endearing valentines to the city of the composer's birth. This is a most desirable issue of music with which the Doric foursome are totally at ease.'
Gramophone Editor’s Choice November 2010

'Four guys in suits; they could be bankers. But bankers don't play music with the passion and finesse of this young British group. They're playing the three string quartets of Erich Wolfgang Korngold, the Austrian wunderkind who remained wonderful even when writing film scores for Errol Flynn. Each quartet, from different decades, twists the kaleidoscope a different way. No 1 is knottily chromatic; the second salutes old Vienna; while the third and best looks back on life with melancholy, regret and laughter.'
The Times (4 Stars) 4 September 2010

Perth Concert Hall:  SCHUBERT String Trio & Rosamunde
'… and here was a performance of quite exceptional finesse, so soft-grained in its opening notes that you had to tune your ears to the theme that would later inspire the opening of Verdi’s Requiem, but invariably responsive to those sudden explosions of temper that became a feature of so many of Schubert’s masterpieces.'
The Herald 12 October 2010

Wigmore Hall:  KORNGOLD String Quartet No 1, MAXWELL DAVIES' Blake Dreaming' for string quartet and baritone (world premiere), BRITTEN String Quartet No 2
'This recital showed just why the Doric Quartet has recently been attracting so much praise. From the technical standpoint the players are superb, but, beyond that, they blend together as though of one mind – the touchstone of any such group.'
Classical Source 30 April 2010

HAYDN Op 9/4, Op 50/2, Op 76/1 (Wigmore Live)  WHLive0032
'With their trademark wonderful timing, here comes a disc from the Dorics to remind us why they have been mentioned in this issue’s cover story as one of the finest young string quartets. There is, properly, a seriousness to their Haydn here as well as a polish that marks them out as musicians with fascinating things to say… The Doric’s Haydn sparkles with wit on their impressive first recording… their very auspicious recording debut.'
Gramophone Magazine February 2010 - EDITOR’S CHOICE featuring music by five of the leading young string quartets of today

Edinburgh, Queen’s Hall: HAYDN Op 50/2 , KORNGOLD Quartet No 3, BEETHOVEN Op 74
'At a time when new string quartets are two a penny, the Doric Quartet has cleared its first hurdles with impressive ease… Haydn served this week as launching-pad for its New Town Concert in Edinburgh… The finesse of the performance, in which nothing was overemphasised, spoke for itself. The soft-grained detail of the first movement showed immediately why these players are going places.'
The Herald 4 March 2009

Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall: HAYDN Op 20/1, JANACEK String Quartet No 2, BEETHOVEN Op 59/1 ‘
'Making their York debut, last year’s winners of the Japan Osaka Competition, the Doric’s showed that they are today’s finest UK Quartet at a time when we are inundated with brilliant young ensembles…Technically they are superb, their account of Janacék’s highly charged, passionate and deeply emotional Intimate Letters capturing to perfection the enormous mood swings and massive dynamic range. They have the ability to play modern works with such deep understanding, yet can perform Haydn with a period awareness that is becoming all too rare. It is a wonderfully balanced ensemble with an uncommonly fine cello in John Myerscough, and a leader, Alex Redington, whose intonation is spotlessly clean. You only had to listen to their extraordinarily quiet ending to the slow movement in Beethoven’s Harp Quartet to know they are not afraid of taking risks.'
Yorkshire Post February 2009

Wigmore Hall HAYDN Op 9/4, Op 50, Op 76/1, Op 50/1
'Haydn and the Doric are a perfect match. This is an ensemble, young but mature of insight, that plays Haydn’s music with spirit, illuminating its blend of wit and sophistication, grace and vivacity, cunning and seemingly effortless spontaneity… The Doric’s performances, without exaggeration but with just the right degree of elucidation, revealed the music’s extraordinary originality and the way that Haydn can explore the potential of his thematic material so thoroughly yet so artlessly… Unequivocally, these were performances of terrific panache and perception, seeming to get right under the skin of Haydn’s creative genius.'
The Sunday Telegraph (5 Stars) 18 January 2009

Festspiele Mecklenburgh-Vorpommern
'Powerful, passionate and precise…The Doric String Quartet triumphed in their German debut'
Nordkurier July 2008

'Seldom has Beethoven’s Opus 18 no. 1 quartet been performed with such thrilling intensity and uncompromised clarity. This was Beethoven full of new insights.'
Ostsee Zeitung July 2008

Programmes

Programmes autumn / winter 2019

MENDELSSOHN - String Quartet in A minor, Op 13
HAYDN - String Quartet Op 33 No 3 OR No 6
--
BRITTEN - String Quartet No 3
HAYDN - String Quartet Op 33 No 3 OR No 6

HAYDN - String Quartet Op 33 No 3 OR No 6
BRITTEN - String Quartet No 1 OR 2 OR 3
--
SCHUBERT - String Quartet in G major

MENDELSSOHN - String Quartet in A minor, Op. 13
BRITTEN - String Quartet No 1 OR 2 OR 3
--
BEETHOVEN - String Quartet Op 18 No 1

Programmes winter / spring 2020

HAYDN - String Quartet Op 33 No 3 OR No 6
BRITTEN - String Quartet No 3
--
BEETHOVEN - String Quartet Op 132

HAYDN - String Quartet Op 33 No 3 OR No 6
SIBELIUS - Voces Intimae
--
BEETHOVEN - String Quartet Op 130

All Beethoven programmes:

BEETHOVEN - String Quartet in B flat, Op 18 No 1
BEETHOVEN - String Quartet Op 135
--
BEETHOVEN - String Quartet Op 130

All the late String Quartets over two programmes:

BEETHOVEN - String Quartet Op 127
BEETHOVEN - String Quartet Op 135
BEETHOVEN - String Quartet Op 131

BEETHOVEN - String Quartet Op 132
BEETHOVEN - String Quartet Op 130

The Doric String Quartet is always happy to revive their repertoire with the harpist Agnès Clément :

André Caplet - “Conte Fantastique - Le masque de la mort rouge”, d'après Poe pour harpe à pédales et quatuor à cordes, (édité 1924)
Florent Schmitt - Andante et scherzo pour harpe et quatuor à cordes, op 35 (1906)
Claude Debussy - Danse sacrée et Danse profane (1904)

Doric 1 George Garnier Square
Photo by George Garnier

Biography

Reviews

Programmes

Discography

Chandos Logo

Itunes

Qobuz Logo New

You Tube Logo Full Color Cut

Classicfm Logo