1. Accueil
  2. Actualités
  3. Agenda
  4. Artistes
  5. Satirino records
  6. Contact
  7. English
  1. Accueil
  2. Actualités
  3. Agenda
  4. Artistes
  5. Satirino records
  6. Contact
  7. English

Satirino records · Dowland - Tunes of Sad Despaire

John Dowland, 1563 - 1626

Dominique Visse, contreténor
Fretwork, consort de violes
Asako Morikawa, Reiko Ichise, Richard Tunnicliffe, Richard Boothby
Renaud Delaigue, basse
Éric Bellocq, luth & orpharion


Enregistrement
Église de Marols, Loire, France, 18, 19 & 20 ix 2011

Instruments
Eric Bellocq
Orpharion - Ugo Casalonga, 2007, accord ‘vieux ton’
Lute - Michael Haaser, 2008, (concept Liuto-Forte d’André Burguete), accord ‘Bellocq’ par tierces

Asako Morikawa - viole alto de Jane Julier, 1988, d'après John Rose
Richard Tunnicliffe - basse de viole de Dietrich Kessler, 1968, d'après Henry Jaye, viole alto de Wang Zhi Ming, 2010, d'après John Hoskins
Reiko Ichise - viole ténor de Dietrich Kessler, 1965, d'après Henry Jaye
Richard Boothby - basse de viole de Jane Julier, 2008, d'après Henry Jaye

Accord
1/6 syntonic comma meantone

Ingénieur de son, direction artistique, montage, mastering
Jiri Heger

Design
le monde est petit

Images
© Arthur Forjonel

Nous tenons à remercier
Maurice Pezdevsek, Maire de Marols
Louis Daurat, directeur artistique des Musicales d’Automne, et toute son équipe
Reiko Arai, Émiko Bellocq, Josiane Frachey, Monsieur et Madame Dugas-Sauze, Pierre Pugnère, Jiri Heger, Aline Pôté, Arthur Forjonel & Supercloclo
L’Auberge et le Café de Marols
Les enfants de l’école de Marols et leur Maître

Cet enregistrement a été possible grâce au généreux soutien de La Commune de Marols et la Communauté de Communes – Pays de St Bonnet-le-Château
Le Festival Musiques d’Automne
Madame Reiko Arai
Madame Emiko Bellocq

Logo Mus Automne Logo Cc
Marols, petit village blotti au sud des Monts du Forez surprend par son charme et son authenticité. Détenteur d’une histoire multiséculaire, le village a été parfaitement restauré où l’on peut admirer des perspectives en cascades, un patrimoine militaire et religieux remarquable…
Sur le chemin de Saint Jacques de Compostelle, Marols accueille depuis trois ans le Festival Musiques d’Automne, associant ainsi son patrimoine architectural et à la diffusion du patrimoine musical.

Texte de présentation

Si on se réfère au contexte de la chanson anglaise à la Renaissance, écouter un enregistrement des Lute Songs de Dowland revient à coller son oreille à un trou de serrure, attitude déplacée qui frise le voyeurisme. Le Lute Song était souvent une affaire intime, on faisait ça seul chez soi, souvent en s’accompagnant soi-même. Chanter les Ayres de Dowland devant un public, même dans leurs versions de madrigaux, aurait été quelque chose d’insolite, du jamais vu probablement.

On appelait Ayres (airs) les Lute Songs de cette période. Un certain William Barley en publia quatre avec un accompagnement de bandore (1) en 1596, mais le concept prit vraiment son essor l’année suivante à la parution du premier recueil de John Dowland. La vogue de cette forme musicale présentée dans le format de Dowland se poursuivit pendant environ vingt-cinq ans. La disposition des parties imprimées aussi bien que le titre de l’ouvrage montraient clairement les diverses façons dont on pouvait les jouer. Le recueil de 1597 était intitulé :


First Booke of Songes or Ayres of foure parts with Tableture for the Lute: So made that all the parts together, or either of them seuerally may be song to the Lute, Orpharion or Viol de gambo. (2)

Cette publication adoptait un format qu’on a appelé tablebook-format, de grands in-folio qui permettaient à chacun des quatre musiciens répartis autour d’une table de voir sa partie en face de lui : une manière unique et luxueuse de présenter de la musique imprimée. Le même document pouvait aussi servir à un chanteur qui s’accompagnait lui-même car la partie de luth était présentée sous forme de tablature qui montrait où placer les doigts sur les frettes plutôt que d’indiquer les hauteurs des notes.

De nombreux documents évoquent le contexte dans lequel on jouait ces chansons. Le journal intime de Lady Margaret Hoby, par exemple, évoque en 1599 l’activité suivante qui suivait le dîner :


Après dîner je m’installai dans mon cabinet et, pour chasser la morosité de mon esprit, je chantai en m’accompagnant à l’Alpharion. (Orpharion)

Thomas Morley, autre compositeur de Lute Songs de l’époque, évoquait des pratiques tout aussi privées dans la préface de son recueil de 1597 :

J’ai transcrit ces tablatures de luth dans le livre de chant de façon à permettre à votre seigneurie de chanter et jouer seule lorsqu’elle souhaite se retirer et se retrouver dans son intimité.

La biographie de Dowland est importante pour l’histoire de cette forme musicale dont il est en quelque sorte la figure emblématique, non seulement parce que sa chanson connue sous le nom de Lacrime eut une renommée internationale et suscita de nombreuses imitations, mais aussi du fait de ses voyages. Son lieu de naissance est sujet à débat, mais en 1580 il était en France au service de Sir Henry Cobham, l’ambassadeur d’Angleterre. C’est alors qu’il se convertit au catholicisme, ce qui fut à son avis la cause de son échec à obtenir un emploi parmi les musiciens de la Reine à son retour en Angleterre en 1594, malgré sa renommée et ses accomplissements au nombre desquels son diplôme de Bachelor of Music obtenu à Oxford en 1588 (il en obtint aussi un de « l’autre université » comme on disait à l’époque pour désigner Cambridge). Il entreprit alors un tour d’Europe avec l’intention d’étudier auprès du très réputé Luca Marenzio, grand maître de la composition de madrigaux qui résidait à Rome, mais il semble qu’il n’arriva jamais jusque là. Nous savons cependant qu’il visita Venise, Padoue, Florence et Ferrare. Il correspondit certainement avec Marenzio qu’il estimait par-dessus tout autre, et imprima même une lettre de lui parmi l’abondante documentation qui accompagne la préface de son recueil de 1597.

L’ambition d’étudier avec Marenzio n’était guère surprenante car on l’admirait comme instigateur d’une nouvelle façon de marier poésie et musique. Les traités anglais de l’époque intégraient les techniques des concepteurs du madrigal italien et en exposaient la théorie dans des ouvrages pédagogiques destinés aux compositeurs novices anglais. Le compositeur Thomas Morley, dont nous avons déjà dit qu’il était contemporain de Dowland, publia en 1597 un tel manuel intitulé A Plaine and Easie Introduction to Practicall Musicke (3) qui contenait une section consacrée à la pratique des madrigalistes italiens : « Comment disposer votre musique pour l’accorder à la nature de ce que sont sensées exprimer les paroles ». Bien que cela ait pu paraître évident à ceux qui pratiquaient couramment le madrigal, Morley en rappelait les principes les plus élémentaires : « vous devez être attentif au fait que si le thème parle d’élévation, d’ascension vers les cieux par exemple, votre musique doit monter ; et inversement si votre chanson parle de descente… vous devez faire descendre votre musique ».


Les différents théoriciens approfondissent de plus en plus les techniques de composition et en particulier le monde nouveau de l’harmonie et du rythme qui annonce l’expressivité baroque. Charles Butler, lorsqu’il revient sur cet âge d’or du Lute Song dans un traité de 1636 intitulé The Principles of Musik in Singing and Setting, évoque le pouvoir expressif du demi-ton descendant, technique souvent utilisée par Dowland : « L’expression de lamentations efféminées, de passions mélancoliques et de plaintes, sont soulignées avec à-propos par l’emploi de ces demi-tons insolites ». Morley avait déjà identifié d’autres intervalles dans le traité de 1597 : « Les tierces et les sixtes mineures, qui par leur nature sont douces et gracieuses… » remarque-t-il d’une part, tandis que « pour exprimer une douleur silencieuse vous pouvez utiliser la demi-pause ou le soupir… ». La répétition de mots évoquant la tristesse est aussi une pratique courante, et en écrivant leurs accompagnements pour le luth les compositeurs reprenaient les formules musicales expressives de la partie vocale pour lui faire écho.


De telles remarques caractérisent précisément le tournant du 16e siècle où les compositeurs de chansons, par exemple ceux de la Camerata Florentine, Jacopo Peri et Giulio Caccini, mais aussi bien sûr Monteverdi, étaient en train de donner corps à ce que ce dernier appelait le Stile Rappresentativo dans lequel les mots étaient davantage choisis pour leur pouvoir expressif que pour leur signification. La combinaison de l’influence de la chanson française et de l’intérêt pour ces idées nouvelles puisées dans la musique florentine constitue un faisceau de courants qui stimule la composition musicale en Angleterre pendant la première partie de 17e siècle.


Le goût pour la rhétorique et la mode de la mélancolie dominaient cette musique et tout particulièrement les Ayres de Dowland. Outre les procédés rhétoriques signalés par Morley et Butler, il y avait un principe assez généralement appliqué par les compositeurs de Lute Songs qui consistait à donner dès les premiers mots du poème les clés de la proposition rhétorique qui allait être développée par la suite. On en trouve de nombreux exemples chez Dowland, et dans le cas du présent enregistrement on peut évoquer « Go Cristal tears », « Sorrow come » (variante de « Sorrow stay »), « Goe nightly cares », « Come heavy sleep », et bien sûr l’archi-célèbre « Flow my tears ».


On a souvent mis en exergue la prédilection de Dowland pour les textes mélancoliques comme il l’exprime lui-même dans le titre malicieux de l’un d’eux, « Semper Dowland, semper dolens » (4) . Dans le contexte de la chanson élisabéthaine ce n’est absolument pas exceptionnel : ce n’était que l’expression en musique d’un concept émotionnel – philosophique même – déjà bien enraciné dans la pensée anglaise. En 1586 Timothy Bright avait publié un Treatise of Melancholy et, parmi d’autres livres traitant de la mélancolie élisabéthaine on peut signaler le recueil de poèmes Melancholic Humours que Nicolas Breton publia en 1600. Le livre fondamental, cependant, fut The Anatomy of Melancholy de Robert Burton, publié en 1621 mais écrit plus tôt, au paroxysme de la passion mélancolique suscitée par Dowland. Bien que publié en latin, son titre anglais promettait au lecteur une explication sur « sa nature avec toutes ses variantes, ses causes, ses symptômes, ses pronostics et les différentes façons de la soigner » (5) . Pour l’auteur ses causes étaient fortement liées à l’idée de punition divine des mécréants, à une mauvaise alimentation, aux humeurs, à la mélancolie amoureuse et à encore beaucoup d’autres choses. Une lecture essentielle pour ceux qui étudient Dowland.


« Go Cristal Tears » fait partie du premier recueil de chansons du compositeur. Il montre avec quel talent on peut construire deux strophes sur la même idée musicale. Les procédés expressifs qui lient la musique au vers étaient souvent forgés pour s’adapter au texte, mais entre des mains habiles ils pouvaient s’adapter à plus d’une strophe. Dans cette chanson le mot weep – pleurer (contre le sein de sa dame) – est souligné par la première occurrence d’un trait musical qui revient dans la seconde strophe mettre l’accent de la façon la plus opportune sur le mot ice, glace. Le poème, à l’instar de beaucoup de textes de madrigaux en Italie comme en Angleterre, est pétrarquisant avec son utilisation typique du contraste entre la chaleur de la passion et la glace du rejet amoureux. Plus traditionnel dans son style et dans sa métrique est la chanson « I was more true to Love than Love to me ». « Sorrow come » est une variante textuelle d’une version à 5 parties de William Wigthorp de l’original « Sorrow stay » de Dowland publié en 1600 dans son Second Book.


L’attribution à Dowland d’une pavane (Paduan) publiée par Thomas Simpson est très incertaine, mais cette pièce constitue une pause bienvenue dans la succession de chansons mélancoliques du compositeur avec leurs intervalles mineurs et leurs phrasés descendants. Simpson avait eu plus de succès à Hambourg que chez lui, et dans cette composition à quatre parties, dont deux parties de violes alto qui se croisent (procédé peu caractéristique de l’écriture de Dowland et de style plutôt allemand), il emploie des techniques de diminution dans la dernière partie de cette pièce publiée en 1621.


Dowland composa de nombreuses pièces pour luth et cela a été une tâche immense de les rassembler dans une édition moderne, le compositeur ayant lui-même échoué dans son projet de réunir ses meilleures compositions. Beaucoup sont conservées dans la collection de l’« autre université », la Bibliothèque de l’Université de Cambridge où Dowland obtint tardivement un deuxième diplôme. « What if a day » semble être une chanson dont on n’a plus aucune version avec texte. La technique de diminution dont nous avons parlé est utilisée dans ce morceau, de même que dans « Dr Case’s Pavan » où un simple version d’une strophe est suivie d’une variation où les lignes musicales linéaires sont ornementées de notes plus rapides : un procédé imaginé en Italie pour la musique instrumentale (les passaggi) pendant la première moitié du 16e siècle.


« Fine knacks for Ladies » fait partie de la tradition des chansons des vendeurs de rue, en l’occurrence avec certaines excentricités rythmiques sur une structure classique.


« Goe nightly cares » fait partie du dernier recueil d’Ayres publié par Dowland en 1612, A Pilgrimes Solace, où il semble dire adieu à la composition, étant retourné en Angleterre après avoir eu la chance d’être employé au service des divertissements royaux sous des cieux étrangers (6). Il cite « huit villes célèbres au-delà des mers ». Dans cette chanson il dit adue (adieu) à la vie : l’une de ses chansons les plus sombres.


« Flow my tears », le Lacrime de Dowland, est présenté ici sous la forme d’un duo : inhabituel mais efficace par l’accent mis sur la structure de la basse continue qui, empruntée à l’Italie, s’imposait peu à peu à l’époque.


Les « Lamentacion » anonymes du Lord of Dehim donnent l’occasion d’entendre l’orpharion broder ses diminutions sur une basse descendante, ce qui convient bien à une lamentation, tandis que la pièce suivante, « In darkness let me dwell », est empruntée à un recueil de chansons publié par le fils de Dowland, Robert, mais qui contient des pièces attribuées à son père John. Il faut remarquer le curieux choix de mots expressifs qui font écho à sa musique dans cette tournure « hellish iarring (jarring) sounds to banish friendly sleep » (7). Les différentes façons de manipuler les intervalles, les harmonies et les rythmes suggérées par Morley, déjà mentionné, sont puissamment mises ici en évidence, puisqu’elles constituent, d’une manière différente, « In this trembling shadow cast » (8) du Pilgrim’s Solace, une sorte de contrepoint au chant qui se charge de la ligne mélodique supérieure. Son tout premier accord, dissonant, est particulièrement frappant.


Le Compte d’Essex, Robert Devereux, poète de cour célèbre, est l’auteur des paroles de « From Silent Night » dédicacé à « mon compatriote bien-aimé Mr. John Forster le Jeune, marchand à Dublin en Irlande ». Comme pour de nombreuses autres chansons du dernier recueil – il fait partie de The Pilgrimes Solace – la musique ressemble davantage à un consort-song auquel la voix apporte un contrepoint aux instruments plutôt que de chanter une véritable chanson.


« Come heavy sleep », chanté ici en duo, revient au style du First Book de cette glorieuse année 1597 où naquit la forme qui est l’objet de cet enregistrement. Il est suivi par une version instrumentale d’une autre chanson du même recueil, puis nous terminons avec « Now o now », autre joyau du volume initial – et initiatique – de Dowland.


Richard Langham Smith
Traduction Joël Surleau

(1) La bandore et l’orpharion étaient des sortes de luths à cordes métalliques. Ndt.
(2) Premier Livre de Chansons ou Airs à quatre parties avec tablatures pour le luth, présenté de façon à ce que toutes les parties puissent se jouer ensemble ou chacune individuellement sur le luth, l’orpharion ou la viole de gambe
(3) Introduction simple et facile à l’écriture musicale
(4) Toujours Dowland, toujours dolent (souffrant)
(5) What it is with all the kinds, causes, symptomes, prognostickes & severall cures of it
(6) ‘Kingly entertainment in a forraine climate’
(7) d’infernales sonorités discordantes propres à bannir l’amical sommeil
(8) dans cette palpitation de l’ombre projetée

Sr121 Square

Télécharger sur iTunes

1 - Go crystall teares - 4’24
Dominique Visse, Fretwork, luth

2 - If my complaints - 4’21
Dominique Visse, Renaud Delaigue, Fretwork, orpharion

3 - Sorrow come - 3’46
Dominique Visse, Fretwork

4 - Paduan par John Dowland/Thomas Simpson - 4’59
Fretwork

5 - What if a day (Poulton n°79) - 1’49
Luth

6 - Fine knacks for ladies - 2’03
Dominique Visse, Fretwork, luth

7 - Goe nightly cares - 3’37
Dominique Visse, Fretwork, orpharion

8 - Flow my teares - 4’51
Dominique Visse, Renaud Delaigue, Fretwork, luth

9 - Anonyme - My Lord of Dehims Lamentacion, manuscrit Cambridge Dd.2.11 fol.40v - 2’18
Orpharion

10 - In darknesse let mee dwell - 4’35
Dominique Visse, Fretwork, orpharion

11 - In this trembling shadow - 3’46
Dominique Visse, Fretwork

12 - Away with these selfe louing lads - 1’59
Dominique Visse, Fretwork, orpharion

13 - Dr. Case’s Pauen, Poulton N°12, diminutions pour les reprises d'Éric Bellocq - 4’28
Luth

14 - From silent night - 4’14
Dominique Visse, Fretwork, luth

15 - Come heauy sleepe - 4’37
Dominique Visse, Renaud Delaigue,  Fretwork

16 - All ye whom loue of fortune or fortune hath betrayd - 2’20
du first booke of songs or ayres
Fretwork, orpharion

17 - Now, O now I needs must part - 7’33
Dominique Visse, Fretwork

1. Home
  2. News
  3. Events
  4. Artists
  5. Satirino records
  6. Contact
  7. Français
  1. Home
  2. News
  3. Events
  4. Artists
  5. Satirino records
  6. Contact
  7. Français

Satirino records · Dowland - Tunes of Sad Despaire

John Dowland, 1563 - 1626

Dominique Visse, countertenor
Fretwork, viol consort
Asako Morikawa, Reiko Ichise, Richard Tunnicliffe, Richard Boothby
Renaud Delaigue, bass
Éric Bellocq, lute & orpharion


Recording
Église de Marols, Loire, France, 18, 19 & 20 ix 2011

Instruments
Eric Bellocq
Orpharion - Ugo Casalonga, 2007, tuning ‘vieux ton’
Lute - Michael Haaser, 2008, (concept Liuto-Forte d’André Burguete), accord ‘Bellocq’ par tierces

Asako Morikawa - treble viol by Jane Julier, 1988, after John Rose
Richard Tunnicliffe - bass viol by Dietrich Kessler, 1968, after Henry Jaye, treble viol by Wang Zhi Ming, 2010, after John Hoskins
Reiko Ichise - tenor viol by Dietrich Kessler, 1965, after Henry Jaye
Richard Boothby - bass viol by Jane Julier, 2008, after Henry Jaye

Tuning
1/6 syntonic comma meantone

Sound engineer, producer, editing, mastering
Jiri Heger

Design
le monde est petit

Images
© Arthur Forjonel

Thanks to
Maurice Pezdevsek, Maire de Marols
Louis Daurat, artistic director, and the organisers of the Musicales d’Automne Festival
Reiko Arai, Émiko Bellocq, Josiane Frachey, Monsieur & Madame Dugas-Sauze, Pierre Pugnère, Jiri Heger, Aline Pôté, Arthur Forjonel & Supercloclo
The Auberge and the Café in Marols
The children of the school of Marols and their school master

This recording was made possible thanks to the generous support of the Commune of Marols and the Communauté de Communes – Pays de St Bonnet-le-Château
The Musiques d’Automne Festival
Madame Reiko Arai
Madame Emiko Bellocq

Logo Mus Automne Logo Cc
Marols is a remarkably charming village nestled in the Southern Monts du Forez. The history of this beautifully restored village goes back over many centuries, and its military and religious heritage can be admired from numerous breathtaking view points...  

Marols is on one of the Santiago de Compostela pilgrimage routes. It has been the home of the Festival Musiques d’Automne for the last three years and in this way the village is able to add musical heritage to its own architectural heritage.

Liner Note

Taking into account the context of Renaissance English song, listening to a recording of Dowland lute-songs is tantamount to eavesdropping through a keyhole when you shouldn’t: clandestine voyeurism even. Singing to the lute was often an intimate business, and people did it alone, frequently accompanying themselves. The idea of singing Dowland Ayres to an audience—even in their madrigal versions—would most likely have been unusual if not unknown.

Lute-songs of this period were known as ‘Ayres’. One William Barley published four with bandora accompaniment in 1596 but the form really took off in the following year with John Dowland’s first book. The fashion for the form, presented in Dowland’s format, lasted for some 25 years. Both in the way the scores were printed and in his titling Dowland made clear the variety of ways in which the pieces could be performed. The 1597 set was entitled:

First Booke of Songes or Ayres of foure parts with Tableture for the Lute: So made that all the parts together, or either of them seuerally may be song to the Lute, Orpharion or Viol de gambo.

They were published in what has been called ‘tablebook-format’, in tall folio books where the printing was aligned to a quartet of performers sitting around a table facing inwards: a luxurious and unique way of presenting the printed music. But for solo, self-accompanied performance the same score could be used since it presented the lute part in tablature: a notation which showed where to put the fingers on the frets rather than indicating the pitches.

Many reports of the context in which the songs were performed have survived. A 1599 diary entry of one Lady Margaret Hoby, for example, records the following after-dinner activity:

 ‘... after dinner I dressed up my Clositte and, to refresh my self being dull, I plaied and sunge to the Alpherion’ (Orpharion — a metal-strung lute).

Thomas Morley, another lute-song composer of the era indicated such intimate performance in the preface to his 1597 collection:

‘I haue set them Tablature wise to the Lute in the Cantus booke for one to sing and plaie alone when your Lordship would retire yourself and bee more private.’

Dowland’s biography is important to the genre and he can be seen as the father-figure of the form, not only because his song known as ‘Lacrime’ became internationally celebrated and the subject of many variations but also because of his travels. His birthplace is disputed but by 1580 he was in France in the service of Sir Henry Cobham, the English Ambassador. It was at this time he converted to Catholicism and he blamed his religion for his failure, on his return to England, to obtain a place among the Queen’s musicians in 1594 despite his reputation and achievements which included obtaining a Bachelor of Music degree from Oxford in 1588 (later he also obtained one from ‘the other university’ – by which, at that time, one meant Cambridge). He subsequently embarked upon a tour of Europe with the intention of studying with the highly reputed model Madrigal composer Luca Marenzio who resided in Rome, though it would seem that he never reached this city. We know, however, that he visited Venice, Padua, Florence and Ferrara. He certainly corresponded with Marenzio whom he esteemed above all others, printing a letter from him in the substantial prefatory material to his 1597 book.
The ambition to study with Marenzio was hardly surprising as this composer was revered as the instigator of a new way of marrying poetry and music. English treatises of the period absorbed the techniques of the Italian Madrigal composers and theorised them into instruction books for would-be English composers. Thomas Morley, already mentioned as a composer contemporary with Dowland, was the author of one such manual A Plaine and Easie Introduction to Practicall Musicke of 1597 which contained a section based on the practice of Italian madrigalists: ‘How to dispose your musicke according to the nature of the words which you are therein to express’. Although it may seem obvious to those familiar with madrigal singing, Morley reminded his readers of the most basic of principles: ‘you must haue a care that when your matter signifieth ascending, high heaven, and such like, you make your musicke ascend: and by the contrarie where your dittie speaketh of decending ... you must make your musicke descend’.
The various theorists went increasingly deeply into the techniques of composition and particularly into the new world of harmony and rhythm: the beginnings of Baroque expressivity. Charles Butler, looking back over the golden age of lute-song in a 1636 treatise entitled The Principles of Musik in Singing and Setting writes of the expressive power of the descending semitone: a device often used by Dowland: ‘Woords of effeminate lamentations, sorrowful passions, and complaints ar fitly exprest by the inordinate half-notes’, he writes. Morley had already identified other intervals in the 1597 treatise already mentioned: ‘Flat thirdes and flat sixes, which of their nature are sweet’, he remarks, while ‘to express sighes you may vse the crotchet or minime rest’ ... The repetition of ‘sorrowful’ words is also commonplace. It should also not be forgotten that lute-song composers mirrored the expressive devices of the vocal part in the lute accompaniments.

Such remarks are quintessentially of the turn of the sixteenth century where the song composers of, for example, the Florentine Camerata—such composers as Jacopo Peri and Giulio Caccini—not to mention Monteverdi—were developing what Monteverdi called the ‘Stile Rappresentativo’ where the words expressed emotions rather than described them. A combination of influences from the French chanson with an interest in these new developments in Florentine music were important motivating forces in English music during the first part of the seventeenth century.


The popularity of rhetoric and a fashion for melancholy were also over-arching, particularly in the case of Dowland’s Ayres. Apart from the rhetorical devices advocated by Morley and Butler, there was a more general principle at work in much of the poetry set by the lute-song composers, where the rhetorical ‘proposition’ to be explored is encapsulated in the first words of the poem. Examples of this procedure are common in Dowland. On the present recording we may mention in this respect ‘Go Cristal tears’; ‘Sorrow come’ (a variant on ‘Sorrow stay’); ‘Goe nightly cares’; ‘Come heavy sleep’, not to mention the most famous ‘Flow my tears’.


Dowland’s predilection for melancholic texts has often been remarked upon: ‘Semper Dowland, semper dolens’ was the quip by which he is remembered, ‘Always Dowland, always melancholy’. In the context of Elizabethan song this was by no means unique: it was merely a musical expression of an emotional—even philosophical—concept already ingrained in English thought. In 1586 Timothy Bright had published a Treatise of Melancholy and, among other books dealing with Elizabethan melancholy, Nicolas Breton had brought out a book of poems entitled Melancholic Humours in 1600. The major tome, however, was Robert Burton’s The Anatomy of Melancholy, published in 1621 but written earlier, during the heyday of Dowland’s melancholy. Though published in Latin, its English title promised the reader an explanation of ‘What it is with all the kinds, causes, symptomes, prognostickes & severall cures of it’. For its author its causes had a lot to do with God punishing miscreants; bad diet; the ‘humours’; love-melancholy and a host of other things: an essential read for students of Dowland.


‘Go Cristal Tears’ comes from the composer’s First book of songs. It illustrates the problem of fitting two stanzas to one musical idea and how this is craftily achieved. Expressive devices expressing the text in music were often crafted to fit the first verse but in clever hands could be made to fit more than one stanza. In this song the word ‘weep’ (into his Lady’s breast) is highlighted first time round, but in the second stanza the same musical emphasis falls on the word ‘ice’, most appropriately, on the same musical idea. The text, like many madrigal texts both in Italy and in England, is Petrarchian, with its typical use of contrasts between the heat of passion and the ice of rejection. More metrical and regular is the song ‘If my complaints’ whose motto is reserved for its final line: ‘I was more true to Love than Love to me’. ‘Sorrow come’ is a textual variant from a 5 part version by William Wigthorp of the original version in Dowland’s Second Book of 1600 whose text read: ‘Sorrow stay’.


Thomas Simpson’s printing of a Pavan (Paduan) is very doubtful in its attribution to Dowland but it is a welcome relief from the minor intervals and falling trajectory of the composer’s melancholy songs. Simpson had found more success in Hamburg than at home and in this four-part piece with two part-crossing treble viols (not typical of Dowland and more in a German style) he employs division techniques in the latter part of the piece, published in 1621.


Dowland composed many pieces for lute and it has been an immense task to gather them into a modern edition, the composer himself having failed to achieve his aim of a collection of his best compostions. Many are preserved in the collection of the ‘other university’, the Library of Cambridge University, from which Dowland later obtained a second degree. ‘What if a day’ seems to be a song of which no texted version survives. The already-mentioned ‘division’ technique is used in this piece, and also in ‘Dr Case’s Pavan’ where a simple version of a stanza is followed by a variation where the linear parts are ornamented with quicker notes: a principle established in Italy—known as passaggi—in instrumental music from the early-mid sixteenth century.


‘Fine knacks for Ladies’ is in the tradition of a street-vendor’s song, in this case with fancy rhythmic quirks over a classical structure.


‘Goe nightly cares’ comes from Dowland’s last published of book Ayres, A Pilgrimes Solace of 1612 in which the composer seems to be bidding farewell to composition, having returned to England after having been fortunate enough to be employed in ‘Kingly entertainment in a forraine climate’. He cites ‘eight most famous Cities beyond the seas’. In this song he bids ‘adue’ (adieu) to life: one of his darkest songs.


‘Flow my tears’, Dowland’s ‘Lacrime’ is presented as a duet on the present recording: unusual but effective in stressing the basso continuo structure which, taken from Italy, was establishing itself at this time.


The anonymous ‘Lamentacion’ of the Lord of Dehim provides an opportunity to hear the Orpharium weaving diminutions on a decending bass, appropriate for a lament while the following piece, ‘In darkness let me dwell’, is taken from a collection of songs published by Dowland’s son Robert, but containing pieces attributed to his father John. Notable is the curious expressive word-setting of the phrase about music making ‘hellish iarring (jarring) sounds to banish friendly sleep’. The various intervallic, harmonic and rhythmic techniques suggested by Morley, already mentioned, are forcefully in evidence here as they are, in a different way, in ‘In this trembling shadow cast’ from Pilgrimes Solace, more like a contrapuntal piece in which the cantus takes the top line. The opening, on a dissonance, is particularly striking.


The Earl of Essex, Robert Devereux, a celebrated courtly poet is the author of the text of ‘From Silent Night’ dedicated to ‘my louing country-man Mr. John Forster the younger, merchant of Dublin in Ireland’. As with several songs from the late collection—it comes from The Pilgrimes Solace—the setting is more like a consort-song in which the singer adds counterpoint to the setting rather than singing a self-contained song.


‘Come heavy sleep’, sung as a duet, returns to the style of the first book of that golden year 1597 when the form to which this recording is indebted was first born. It is followed by a consort version of another song from the same collection and we end with ‘Now o now’ another gem from Dowland’s initial—and initiative—volume.


Richard Langham Smith

Record  Sr121

Download on iTunes

1 - Go crystall teares - 4’24
Dominique Visse, Fretwork, lute

2 - If my complaints - 4’21
Dominique Visse, Renaud Delaigue, Fretwork, orpharion

3 - Sorrow come - 3’46
Dominique Visse, Fretwork

4 - Paduan by John Dowland/Thomas Simpson - 4’59
Fretwork

5 - What if a day (Poulton n°79) - 1’49
Lute

6 - Fine knacks for ladies - 2’03
Dominique Visse, Fretwork, lute

7 - Goe nightly cares - 3’37
Dominique Visse, Fretwork, orpharion

8 - Flow my teares - 4’51
Dominique Visse, Renaud Delaigue, Fretwork, lute

9 - Anonymous - My Lord of Dehims Lamentacion, manuscrit Cambridge Dd.2.11 fol.40v - 2’18
Orpharion

10 - In darknesse let mee dwell - 4’35
Dominique Visse, Fretwork, orpharion

11 - In this trembling shadow - 3’46
Dominique Visse, Fretwork

12 - Away with these selfe louing lads - 1’59
Dominique Visse, Fretwork, orpharion

13 - Dr. Case’s Pauen, Poulton N°12, diminutions for repeats by Éric Bellocq - 4’28
Lute

14 - From silent night - 4’14
Dominique Visse, Fretwork, lute

15 - Come heauy sleepe - 4’37
Dominique Visse, Renaud Delaigue, Fretwork

16 - All ye whom loue of fortune or fortune hath betrayd - 2’20
from the first booke of songs or ayres
Fretwork, orpharion

17 - Now, O now I needs must part - 7’33
Dominique Visse, Fretwork